Thursday, May 8, 2014

Tell a Tale: Every Last Cuckoo

This book is almost worth reading just because of the pretty cover~

Summary (from Goodreads): Sarah Lucas imagined the rest of her days would be spent living peacefully in her rural Vermont home in the steadfast company of her husband. But now, with Charles's sudden passing, seventy-five-year-old Sarah is left inconsolably alone. 

As grief settles in, Sarah's mind lingers on her past: her imperfect but devoted fifty-year marriage to Charles; the years they spent raising their three very different children; and her childhood during the Great Depression, when her parents opened their home to countless relatives and neighbors. So, when a variety of wayward souls come seeking shelter in Sarah's own big, empty home, her past comes full circle. As this unruly flock forms a family of sorts, they with Sarah nurture and protect one another, all the while discovering their unsuspected strengths and courage. 

In the tradition of Jane Smiley and Sue Miller, Kate Maloy has crafted a wise and gratifying novel about a woman who gracefully accepts a surprising new role just when she though her best years were behind her.

Rural Vermont - WOW!
Review: This was an interesting read and a peek into a change near the end of one's life that isn't talked about very much. When a spouse dies after a mostly happy lifetime together how does the person left behind even begin to comprehend a new life on their own?

Sarah's transition to independence occurs very slowly for the most part, which is quite natural. But there were parts of her story that I thought progressed a bit too quickly.

I was filled with a lot of anxiety each time I had to read about her walks out into nature, sure that at some point she was going to stumble upon a wild animal that would do her in. I scanned much of the long descriptions of her photography because they just seemed like filler. It was enough for me to know that she had found a new hobby and was enjoying it.

Not being married myself, and still quite young compared to Sarah, I couldn't really relate to her, but I could see glimpses of how I hope to live my life when I do reach her age. I hope that I'm as open minded to new experiences as she is and that my life is full of friends and family who come together to celebrate the everyday.
I think this looks like Sarah's Vermont~
Have you read this book or any other by Kate Maloy?  Could you imagine taking in a house full of strangers when you're going through a major life transition?  Leave a comment below~

1 comment:

Brenda said...

This does sound interesting to me at the age of 53 and a year long empty nester, (having been a single Mum). I've never read books by this author, but now may give this one, a try. Thanks! :)


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...